Confederate Stamp Alliance


The CONFEDERATE STAMP ALLIANCE sponsors an annual CSA Philatelic Convention and Exhibition held at various WSP Shows across the country. The CONFEDERATE STAMP ALLIANCE Convention and Exhibition is the major annual gathering of Confederate collectors and features spectacular exhibits of Confederate stamps and covers. The famous Southern Supper is a major philatelic event. Each year at the Southern Supper, the Confederate Stamp Alliance Awards are presented. These consist of the Haydn Myer Award (service to the Alliance), the CP Writers Award (best article in the Confederate Philatelist since the last convention), and the August Dietz Award (research and writing since the last convention). Click the award name to review a listing of past recipients. In addition to these three awards, the exhibitors at the convention are recognized with a series of various exhibiting awards the most prestigious being the CSA Trophy for the best Confederate Exhibit. The awards presentations are always a highlight of the Southern Supper.

The original inscribed plaque of the Haydn Meyer Award is on display at the APRL (American Philatelic Research Library) in the APS Match Factory Headquarters at Bellefonte, Pa. The archives of the Alliance were moved to the APRL in 2002 and are available for research and study.

11 AUG 2017 -- The 2017 CONFEDERATE STAMP ALLIANCE Convention was held 3 - 6 AUG 2017 in Richmond, Virginia in conjunction with the APS StampShow 2017. Click PHOTOS to see some pictures from the convention.  The 72nd Southern Supper was held Friday 4 AUG 2017 at the prestigious Commonwealth Club with 88 members and guests in attendance and with President Deane R. Briggs MD presiding. Thanks go to the convention hosts, Peter and Ethyl Powell and Rick Calhoun for the superb effort in planning and coordinating the convention. 

The following awards were presented:

  • The CSA Trophy was presented to Leonard H. Hartmann.
  • The Haydn-Myer Award for Service was presented to John L. Kimbrough MD for his efforts in writing and coordinating the 2016 membership survey..
  • The August Dietz Award was presented to Francis J. Crown Jr for his book Uniontown, Alabama, Postmaster's Provisionals.
  • The CP Writer's Award was presented to Patricia A. Kaufmann for her article "Confederate Mail Runner and Spy Lottie Moon Clark and a New Look at the Undelivered Camp Chase Letters" in the Fourth Quarter 2016 issue of the CP. A second CP Writer's Award was presented to Kevin P. Andersen for his article "Demystifying the Stone Y Flaw" in the Third Quarter 2016 issue of the CP.

CSA Members exhibiting Confederate material at the convention received the following awards:

  • "Confederate Use of Patriotic Covers Etc, During the Civil War (1861-1865)" -- John H. Walker -- CSA Trustees Research Trophy, APS Large Vermeil Medal.
  • "De La Rue Issues for the Confederate States of America" -- Leonard H. Hartmann -- CSA Trophy, APS Large Vermeil Medal.
  • "Confederate Mails on the Rails" -- Louis Hannon -- CSA General's Award, APS Large Vermeil Medal.
  • "Independent State and Confederate Mail of West Virginia 1861-1865" -- Wayne Farley -- William G. Bogg Memorial Award, APS Large Vermeil Medal.
  • "Confederate States 2 Cent Rates and Fees: Civil War Postal Challenges" (one frame) -- Clifford Alexander -- CSA Robert A. Siegel Memorial Award, APS Gold Medal.
  • "US Post Office Operations in the Seceded States" (one frame) -- Jerry Wells -- CSA Conrad L. Bush Memorial Award, APS Large Vermeil.
  • "Rally "Round the Flag" -- Randolph Smith -- CSA John W. Kaufmann Memorial Award, APS Large Vermeil.
  • "Telegraphy on the Civil War" -- George J. Kramer -- CSA President's Trophy, APS Vermeil Medal.
  • "Confederate Advertising Covers" -- Larry Baum -- CSA General's Award, APS Large Vermeil Medal.

Our thanks to Tom Lera, Rick Calhoun, and Alex Hall for judging the Confederate exhibits for the CSA awards.

Philatelic Literature Exhibits from Confederate Stamp Alliance Members:

  • The Springfield Facsimiles Of Confederate Postage Stamps -- Steven M. Roth, Francis J. Crown Jr, Patricia A. Kaufmann -- APS Large Vermeil Medal.
  • North Carolina Postal Historian -- Tony Crumbley and Richard Winter -- APS Large Vermeil. Medal
  • Florida Postal History Journal -- Deane R. Briggs MD -- APS Vermeil Medal.

At the APS Writer's Unit Breakfast on 6 AUG 2017, Patricia A. Kaufmann was inducted into the APS Writer's Unit Hall of Fame.

Presentations given by CSA members --

  • "The Role of Patriotic Envelopes in Creating Confederate Unity" -- Randy Smith.
  • "Adams Express in Washington DC and Virginia and the Civil War" -- Clifford Alexander.
  • "Advertising Covers of Richmond, Virginia Through the Civil War" -- Larry Baum.
  • "West Virginia in the Civil War" -- Wayne Farley
  • The De La Rue Stamps of the Confederate States of America" -- Leonard Hartmann.
  • "Antebellum Virginia, the 1851-1861 Period -- Gene Lightfoot.

CSA Generals in Attendance at the Southern Supper -- Gen Frank Crown, Gen Jerry Palazolo, Gen Trish Kaufmann, Gen John Kimbrough, Gen Tony Crumbley, Gen Peter Powell, Gen James Monroe, Gen Rick Calhoun, and newly elevated Gen Larry Baum.

At the Southern Supper, Leonard Hartmann announced the recent discovery of the 4th pane of 100 of the 10c Altered Plate Printing Plate that had been missing for many decades. The printing plate section was found accidentally in New Mexico in the effects of a relative who had passed away recently. How the plate came into this family's possession and where it had been for all these years is a complete mystery. The owners of the plate were guests at the dinner and had the plate with them for all to see. The 100 subject printing plate is in excellent condition and appears that no stamps were ever printed from it.

The Annual General Membership Business Meeting was held Saturday 5 APR 2017 with President Deane R. Briggs MD presiding. The Alliance is strong financially. Sites of future meetings and conventions were announced with details to follow as they become available. The full report of the General Membership Meeting will appear in the next issue of  The Confederate Philatelist in accordance with the By-Laws.

Reports and Photos from Previous CSA Conventions
1999 -- Sarasota, Fla 2000 -- Dallas, Tex 2001 -- Virginia Beach, Va
2002 -- Charlotte NC 2003 -- St. Louis, Mo 2004 -- Sarasota, Fla
2005 -- Tysons Corner, Va 2006 -- New York City 2007 -- Williamsburg, Va
2008 -- Charlotte NC 2009 -- Orlando, Fla 2010 -- Richmond, Va
2011 -- San Francisco, Ca 2012 -- Tysons Corner, Va 2013 -- Cleveland, Ohio
2014 -- Sarasota, Fla 2015 -- London, England 2016 -- St. Louis, Mo

Columbus Skyline2018 Annual Convention

Columbus, OH
  August 9-12, 2018

Our 2018 Annual Convention will be held in Columbus, OH, in conjunction with the APS Stamp Show at the Greater Columbus Convention Center. Members are encouraged to make presentations and can contact Deane Briggs or Tom Richards regarding a time slot. We are assured all exhibits will have a judge knowledgeable in Confederate Philately, so let's try to have a good showing of exhibits. 

Important!  Exhibit entry forms are due May 15th.

Lodging: Crown Plaza $135/night (614-461-4100, mention APS for the show rate)

Local Host:  Tom Richards (614-530-0447)  

Show Hours: Thurs-Sat 10am-6pm, Sun 10am-4pm

Southern Supper:  Friday Evening, August 10, 2018, location TBD.

Annual Meeting: Saturday, 9am, Greater Columbus Convention Center. 

    Future Sites of CSA Conventions are --
    • The 2019 annual convention is planned for the Sarasota National Stamp Exhibition in Sarasota, Florida 1-3 FEB 2019.